Summer League and Wilne 10k

The hotly contested 2012 LERC summer league drew to a close on September 2nd with the completion of the Wilne 10k, a popular local race that also served as both the Midland and Derbyshire 10k championships. The quiet country lanes of Draycott played host to a bumper field of more than 600 runners, ranging from nationally ranked athletes looking to break the magical 30 minute barrier, to local runners completing the 10k distance for the first time.

LERC was, as one might expect for a race taking place on one of the club’s regular training routes, very well represented on both the start list and the sidelines. As has become a regular occurrence in recent week, Andy Peat was first home for the club, running an outstanding 32:55 to break 33 minutes for the first time ever and seal a place in the top 20. The result also capped of an outstanding season in which he was first LERC runner at no fewer than 13 races over the past few months, meaning that he took first place in the summer league.

Andy was followed home by a further 17 LERC men, many of whom ran personal bests or picked up medals in either the team event or the championship categories. PB’s were attained by Richard Howe (38:48), Pete Webb (40:10), Rob Allen (42:13), Martin Matthews (44:24) and Kev Barry (52:18). A team comprising Andy Peat, Andy McNeill, Alan Kay and Tuhin Wahid picked up the prize for 3rd place, with Andy Mac taking Midland M45 silver and Tuhin Derbyshire M40 bronze. Rob Fox, Andy Mac and Rich Wilkinson also won the Midland Masters M45 team event, on what was a very productive afternoon for the club’s men.

On the women’s side, 9 LERC runners toed the line, led home by Sarah Harris, who was disappointed with her time of 37:33, but was still 4th woman on the day and the Midland V35 and Derbyshire senior champion. Joining Sarah in winning 2nd place in the team event were the ever-consistent Natalie Teece and the evergreen Jackie Mather, who also took bronze in the Midland F50 category. Karen Levers and Laura Froggatt also recorded well-deserved pbs of 51:06 and 54:58 respectively.

With Andy Peat crowned as summer league senior men’s champion, the second place went to recent winter league winner, Mark Boot, while Pete Webb also made the podium after a consistent summer of running. In the M40 age group, Dave Boot took the honours, with Paddy Fitzgerald and Shaun Burton in 2nd and 3rd, while Rich Wilkinson was the winner of the V50 prize. Paul Burchell was rewarded with 2nd place after an excellent season and Martin Tilling took 3rd. Damian Cowlishaw’s support for the team earned him the Pheidippedes Award.

For the senior women, SarahTerry was crowned summer league champion after a summer of excellent results, while Rachel Argent and Leanne Smith beat off stiff completion to make the top 3. Karen Levers was first in the V35 category and Dawn Blatherwick took 2nd place, her run at Wilne 10k ensuring her position. Carrie Chan showed excellent commitment to the cause to take the Pheidippedes Award.

This report was brought to you by deano


Click here to return to all news articles.