Marathon Bonanza Weekend

On 14th September 2008 Long Eaton Running Club was represented in, not one, but two Marathons and in three Half marathons. In Derbyshire 4 of the clubís elite runners competed in the Ashbourne Half Marathon. Neil Renault won the race in a time of 1:17:11, closely followed by Andy McNeill, who finished in 2nd position overall, and 1st V40 in a time of 1:17:22. Patrick Fitzgerald finished 21st overall in a time of 1:30:16. Representing the ladies was Sharon Orridge who finished 2nd lady overall in a time of 1:32:21.

The second half marathon of the day was the Mablethorpe Half Marathon, which saw two Long Eaton runners representing the club. Monica Fee set a new personal best time of 1:32:32 finishing 3rd lady overall and 1st lady in her age category. Phil Abbott completed the course a few seconds behind Monica.

Damien Cowlishaw took on the challenge of the Mablethorpe Marathon, finishing in a time of 4:32:38.

Of course the main events were the Robin Hood Marathon and Half Marathon, the final races of the Summer League. As expected, there was a great turnout for the club at both events. 5 Long Eaton runners tackled the Marathon, with Peter Fowles first home for the club. Peter finished 360th overall in a time of 3:46:06. Colin Bostock finished 402nd overall in 3:49:54. Mark Goodson, competing in his first marathon, finished in 4:02:36. Steve Craner who was also competing in his first marathon, finished in 4:13:45. Finally Paul Burchell also tackling the marathon distance for the first time completed the course in 4:30:06.

31 club runners competed in the Robin Hood Half Marathon. Paul Lewis, John Birch, Duncan Gedge and Nicola Bennett set new course bests. Paul finished 38th overall in 1:15:30. John set a new course best and seasonís best, finishing 86th in 1:22:04. Duncan finished in 1:43:59, with Nicola finishing in 1:52:35. New personal best times were set by Ian Chant (1:22:27), Clare Price (1:54:15) and Louise Jansen (1:57:22). There were debuts by Billy Dave Huchison (2:33:11), Jackie Mather (1:44:33) and Nicola Greensmith (2:16:21). For the full results please visit


Click here to return to all news articles.