Notts 10 Road race

On Friday 6th June 2008 drizzle was the main weather element the runners faced at the 37th Notts 10 mile road race. The slight rain kept the runners cool as they ran the 3 laps over the mainly flat course. 14 members of the Long Eaton running club competed, with some fantastic individual performances. 7 members set new personal best times over the distance. Phil Thompson knocked 12 minutes off his previous best, finishing in 1:11:24 (105th), Jon Hughes knocked nearly 8 minutes off his previous best, finishing in 1:04:03 (46th), Mark Goodson also knocked almost 8 minutes off his previous best, finishing in 1:16:26 (148th). John Hay knocked over 6 minutes off his previous best time, finishing in 1:13:11 (116th) with Mario Rochelli beating his previous best time by 5 minutes, finishing in 1:06:58 (68th). Damien Cowlishaw finished in a new personal best time of 1:20:56 (186th), and Shaun Burton ran his quickest 10 mile race since 2005, finishing in 1:16:46 (153rd). The only female representative for the club, Caroline Waterhouse also set a new personal best time of 1:18:25 (166th).

Paul Lewis finished 7th overall, finishing in a time of 56:55 and won a Silver Medal in the County Championships. Rob Fox finished 13th with a time of 59:07. Andy Colegate, who ran 12 miles to get to the start of the race itself, completed the course in a time of 1:00:58 finishing 27th overall.

Other representatives for the club were Simon Hardy who finished in 1:07:18 (73rd), Ash Patel who finished in 1:07:49 (77th) and Andy Bradley who completed the course in 1:12:38 (112th). There were 259 finishers.


Click here to return to all news articles.